Opel Speedster – Kinopel

Tom & Lilly – a great cinema love story.

Engineer Tom sees cool poster sticker Lilly standing in the parking lot crying after work and knows immediately: That’s the one! But this love is under a bad star, because Lilly’s fate will end tragically that day. The only one who can stop that is Tom. When he realizes this and fails for the first time, he bundles all his will and reverses time, builds a time loop that gives him a new chance to change fate…

Image-Film for Opel / 10′

Agency: Milla & Partner, Ingo Kaske

Production company: SAM-Film / Andreas Ulmke-Smeaton

Actors: Oliver Bootz, Liane Forestieri

Making of

Around the year 2000, Opel had the vision of building a large car center in Rüsselsheim where customers would pick up their cars themselves. As VW did with the “Autostadt” in Wolfsburg, Opel wanted to create a theme park around this centre to guide customers through Opel’s brand world. The center piece of “Opel City” was planned as an ultra-modern cinema, where a film should promote the brand’s new image carrier: the Opel Speedster, a super-light sports car that Opel had just developed together with classic British sports car maker Lotus. What crazy times! Rainer Kaufmann, one of the most respected German directors, told me back then that he had just shot the “Autostadt” brand film for Bentley and the old bourgeois brand Opel built a super cool sports car with Lotus. Everything seemed possible…

Together with the production company Picture Planet, director Hans Horn developed the concept for an image film in which a hero had to save the heroine in three time loops with the help of the Opel Speedster. Since Hans had to hand over the project for scheduling reasons, I took over the structure of his concept, slimmed it down and focused the story on the two characters and their struggle against the powers of destiny.

Together with the production company SAM-Film I shot the film in Berlin in autumn 2000 and finished it for the coming winter. Unfortunately, the quarterly figures from the turn of the year 2000/2001 were so bad that the Opel management decided to discontinue not only the image film, but the entire theme park. Only the fact that Opel’s lawyers had found that it would be cheaper to finish the film than to stop it led us to get it through online and mixing. The Opel guys didn’t even show up for the final approval. As the final master ran in the sound studio, I was sitting there with the sound engineer alone. This makes us two the only people who have ever seen this huge project in a movie theatre for which it had been planned for so long time.

People with little time will find the trailer here. All the others will find the whole movie below.

Attention: This is a showreel version with free music. The password can be found here.

Top

Opel Speedster – Kinopel

Tom & Lilly – eine große Kino-Liebesgeschichte.

 

Ingenieur Tom sieht nach der Arbeit die coole Plakatkleberin Lilly heulend auf den Parkplatz stehen und sofort weiß er: Das ist sie! Doch steht diese Liebe unter einem schlechten Stern, denn Lillys Schicksal wird an diesem Tag tragisch enden. Der einzige, der das verhindern kann ist Tom. Als er dies erkennt und beim ersten Mal versagt, bündelt er all seinen Willen und läßt die Zeit umkehren, baut eine Zeitschleife auf, die ihn eine neue Chance verschafft, das Schicksal zu ändern…

 

Image-Film für Opel / 10′

Agentur: Milla & Partner, Ingo Kaske

Produktion: SAM-Film / Andreas Ulmke-Smeaton

Darsteller: Oliver Bootz, Liane Forestieri

Making of

Opel hatte um das Jahr 2000 herum die Vision, in Rüsselsheim ein großes Autozentrum zu bauen, in dem sich die Kunden ihre Autos selbst abholen sollten. Um dieses Zentrum herum sollte ein Themenpark geschaffen werden, in dem die Kunden durch die Markenwelt von Opel geführt würden. Vorbild war die VW-Autostadt in Wolfsburg. Kern der Opel-Stadt sollte ein hochmodernes Kino sein und in diesem sollte ein einziger Film laufen, gedreht mit dem Image-Träger der Marke: dem Opel Speedster, einem superleichten Sportwagen, den Opel gerade gemeinsam mit Lotus entwickelt hatte. Was für verrückte Zeiten! Rainer Kaufmann, einer der angesehensten deutschen Regisseure, erzählte mir damals, dass er gerade die Autostadt den Markenfilm für Bentley gedreht hatte und die alte Spießermarke Opel baute einen supercoolen Sportwagen mit Lotus. Alles schien möglich…

Regisseur Hans Horn entwickelte gemeinsam mit der Produktionfirma Picture Planet das Konzept für einen Image-Film, in dem ein Held in drei Zeitschleifen mithilfe des Opel Speedsters die Heldin retten sollte. Da Hans aus terminlichen Gründen das Projekt jedoch abgeben musste, übernahm ich die Struktur seines Konzepts, verschlankte und fokussierte die Geschichte auf die beiden Figuren und ihren Kampf gegen die Mächte des Schichsals.

Gemeinsam mit der Produktionsfirma SAM-Film drehten wir den Film im Herbst 2000 schließlich in Berlin und stellten ihn über den kommenden Winter fertig. Leider waren die Quartalszahlen aus dem Jahreswechesl 2000/2001 jedoch so schlecht, dass das Management von Opel entschied, nicht nur den Imagefilm, sondern den gesamten Themenpark einzustellen. Einzig der Umstand, dass die Anwälte von Opel festgstellt hatten, dass es billiger wäre, den Film fertigzustellen, als ihn abzubrechen, führte dazu, dass wir ihn durch Online und Mischung brachten. Die Auftraggeber von Opel kamen nicht einmal mehr zur Abnahme. In der Abnahme der Mischung saß ich alleine mit dem Tonmeister. Damit sind wir beide die einzigen Menschen, die dieses Riesen-Projekt jemals im Kino gesehen haben, für das es einst kopnzipiert worden war.

 

Menschen mit wenig Zeit finden hier den Trailer. Der vollständige Film ist unten.

Achtung: Showreel-Fassung mit freier Musik. Das Passwort findet ihr hier.



This website stores some user agent data. These data are used to provide a more personalized experience and to track your whereabouts around our website in compliance with the European General Data Protection Regulation. If you decide to opt-out of any future tracking, a cookie will be set up in your browser to remember this choice for one year. I Agree, Deny
593