Space-Zoo

Lost in Space - bavarian sytle

All images (c) by Marco Meenen

The year 2030. Due to an operating error in the hyperspace module of the Bavarian space station “Stoiber”, the two astronauts Franz Daxenberger and Dirk Mandelbrot reach the planet Aldebaran 9, almost 23,000 light years away from Earth, where they and their station are put into a small enclosure of the city zoo. While Franz tries to get the station afloat again to return to Earth, Dirk sees this as the turning point in his career: the first contact of  a man with an alien species. The zoo administration, however, has completely different plans: since they think the two are males and females, they want to put the icing on the cake for the new attraction and make sure that the two earthlings repdoduce themselves…

Short Film 2001 / 15′ / CinemaScope
Written & Directed by
Actors: Elmar Wepper, Uwe Rohde, Michael Brandner
Production: T4-Filmproduktion / Claudia Gatzke

A co-production of T4-Film, HFF Munich, ARRI and Bayerischer Rundfunk
funded by FilmFernsehFonds Bayern

TV: Bavarian Radio, arte

Cinema: supporting film for “Vaya con Dios”, Senator Film

numerous festivals

Making of

Franz (eating his pill): Vanilla! Very resourceful your miracle! For example, if they let us down sausage, it'd be a miracle. With pretzels!

My graduation film “Space-Zoo” was extreme in every respect. The story takes two astronauts from a space station in orbit back to Earth via a zoo enclosure on a foreign planet. To be able to tell this, all sets had to be built from scratch. Since Roland Emmerich’s “Noah’s Ark Project”, no one had dared to do this in the context of a university film. When we finished with “Space-Zoo”, we knew why.

Especially the main set of the zoo enclosure presented us with almost insurmountable difficulties. That thing was huge. Fortunately, we had an abandoned exhibition hall in which we could set up this enormous set – but we had completely underestimated the dimension of the project. The equipment ate up our entire budget and ran so far behind schedule despite an army of volunteers that we didn’t spend the first day of shooting, but rather getting the first set reasonably finished. While I tried to keep my leading actors happy, our Special Effect Supervisor Jürgen Schopper applied patina in the spaceship with a small sponge. As soon as we shot it, however, we conjured pure cinema magic: an Elmar Wepper floating weightlessly through the spaceship, a Uwe Rohde making pantomimic contact with two aliens and both of them together, who finally dance waltzes in a space suit to cover up their escape. Without the generous support of the Magicon team that built and played on the aliens, ARRI, who provided us with equipment and 3D effects, Stefan Galleithner with a team that let the “Stoiber” fly, and an army of highly professional employees who struggled with the days and nights to somehow get it all done, I would never have managed it. I would therefore like to express my special thanks once again to this army.

As expected, this madness continued in postproduction, but somehow we finally got it finished, weightless, light, my first real “big picture”. As exhausting as it was, I would do it again immediately.

Space-Zoo

Lost in Space - bavarian sytle

Alle Fotos (c) by Marco Meenen

Das Jahr 2030. Durch einen Bedienungsfehler im Hyperraummodul der bayerischen Raumstation “Stoiber” gelangen die beiden Astronauten Franz Daxenberger und Dirk Mandelbrot auf den Planeten Aldebaran 9, knapp 23.000 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernt, wo sie mitsamt ihrer Station in ein kleines Gehege des städtischen Zoos gesteckt werden. Während die beiden Astronauten versuchen, die Station wieder flottzukriegen, um zur Erde zurückzukehren, hält die Zooverwaltung, sie für Männchen und Weibchen und versucht sie fortzupflanzen…

 

Kurzfilm 2001 / 15′ / CinemaScope
Drehbuch & Regie
Darsteller: Elmar Wepper, Uwe Rohde, Michael Brandner
Produktion: T4-Filmproduktion / Claudia Gatzke

Eine Co-Produktion von T4-Film, HFF München, ARRI und Bayerischer Rundfunk
gefördert mit Mitteln des FilmFernsehFonds Bayern

 

TV: Bayerischer Rundfunk, arte

Kino: Vorfilm zu “Vaya con Dios”, Senator Film

zahlreiche Festivals

Making of

Franz (wirft seine Pille ein): Vanille! Sehr einfallsreich dein Wunder! Wenn die uns zum Beispiel Weißwürst' runterlassen würden, das wäre ein Wunder. Mit Brezn.

Mein Abschlussfilm “Space-Zoo” war in jeder Hinsicht extrem. Die Story führt zwei Astronauten von einer Raumstation im Orbit über ein Zoogehege auf einem fremden Planeten zurück zur Erde. Um das erzählen zu können, mussten alle Sets von Grund auf gebaut werden. Seit Roland Emmerichs “Arche Noah-Projekt” hatte das niemand mehr im Rahmen eines Hochschulfilms gewagt. Als wir mit “Space-Zoo” fertig waren, wussten wir auch, warum.

Vor allem das Hauptset des Zoogeheges stellte uns vor fast unüberwindliche Schwierigkeiten. Das Ding war riesig. Glücklicherweise hatten wir eine aufgelassene Messehalle, in der wir das “mords Trumm” aufstellen konnten – doch hatten wir die Dimension des Projektes komplett unterschätzt. Die Ausstattung fraß unser gesamtes Budget auf und lief trotz einer Armee von Freiwilligen dem Zeitplan derartig hinterher, dass wir den ersten Drehtag nicht mit Drehen verbrachten, sondern damit, das erste Set einigermaßen fertig zu bekommen. Während ich versuchte, meine Hauptdarsteller bei Laune zu halten, brachte unser Special Effect Supervisor Jürgen Schopper mit einem kleinen Schwämmchen noch Patina im Raumschiff an. Sobald wir jedoch drehten, zauberten wir reine Kinomagie: ein Elmar Wepper, der schwerelos durch’s Raumschiff schwebt, ein Uwe Rohde, der mit zwei Außerirdischen pantomimisch Kontakt aufnimmt und beide zusammen, die schließlich im Raumanzug Walzer tanzen, um ihre Flucht zu vertuschen. Ohne die großzügige Unterstützung des Teams von Magicon, das die Aliens gebaut und bespielt hat, von ARRI, die uns mit Equipment und 3D-Effekten versorgten, Stefan Galleithner mit Team, die die “Stoiber” fliegen ließen, sowie einer Armee hochprofessioneller Mitarbeiter, die sich mit die Tage und Nächte um die Ohren schlug, um das alles irgendwie fertig zu bekommen, hätte ich das nie geschafft. Dieser Armee gilt daher nocheinmal mein ganz spezieller Dank.

Wie zu erwarten, setzte sich in der Postproduktion dieser Wahnsinn fort, doch irgendwie bekamen wir ihn schließlich fertig, schwerelos, leicht, mein erstes wirkliches “big picture”. So anstrengend das ganze auch war – ich würde es sofort wieder tun.